Three Diplomats Named All-Region

Three Diplomats Named All-Region

Complete Team

LANCASTER, Pa. — Three members of Franklin & Marshall's women's lacrosse team were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWCLA) All-Metro Region Team, announced Thursday. Seniors Paige Moriarty and Danielle Harrington, along with sophomore Maggie Hanzsche all earned a spot on the first team.

Paige Moriarty (Glen Ridge, N.J. / Glen Ridge) made her fourth All-Region Team. Earlier this postseason, she became just the third Diplomat to receive Centennial Conference Offensive Player of the Year honors, and the third overall to win the award twice after also earning it in 2016. The senior attacker was a unanimous CC First Team selection and was the 20th player in CC history to earn First Team accolades three times. She leads the Conference in points (89) while sitting third in assists (39), and fourth in goals (50). She has scored multiple points in 19 games this season, including 11 with four or more points. 

Moriarty reset the F&Ml and Centennial career points record earlier this season and currently sits at 385 career points. She has 225 career goals, which are good for second all-time, while her 160 assists are tied for first. 

Maggie Hanzsche (Berwyn, Pa. / Conestoga) made the All-Region Team for the first time in her career after earning All-CC honors for the first time earlier this month. A sophomore defender, she has started in all 21 games this year and collected 34 ground balls with 23 caused turnovers. 

Danielle Harrington (Massapequa, N.Y. / Plainedge) picked up her first All-Region accoladed after landing on the All-CC First team. She leads the Conference with 182 saves and has a 53.4 save percentage in net. The senior anchored the second-best defense in the CC with an 8.18 goals-against average and has five or more saves in 18 games, including a career-high 19 against Gettysburg on April 4. 

F&M returns to action on Saturday in the third round of the NCAA Tournament, taking on Colorado College at 2:30 p.m. on the campus of The College of New Jersey.