Cole's OT Winner Drops Bears

Cole's OT Winner Drops Bears

Box Score

COLLEGEVILLE, Pa. – Sydney Cole led No. 14 Franklin & Marshall's field hockey team with an overtime goal to beat Ursinus 3-2 and set a new program record on Saturday afternoon.

F&M remains undefeated in conference play with an overall record 9-2, 6-0 CC while Ursinus fell to 6-5, 4-2 CC. 

Ursinus came out strong to start the overtime period, but back-to-back saves from Santangelo kept the Diplomats in the game. Cole charged down the right side of the field and a hard shot snuck past the Bears' 'keeper for the game-winner in the 76th minute. Cole now holds the program record for most game-winning goals with 14 in her career. She passes Becky Willert '12.

Erin Coverdale got things going for the Diplomats, scoring the first goal of the game at the 4:52 mark off a cross from Cole to give F&M the 1-0 lead.

Play continued evenly for the next 15 minutes, with both goalkeepers making a combined five saves. 

The Bears then came charging down the field, scoring two goals in under a minute. The first goal was a long shot from Brooke Overly, and Gabriela Howell scored the second off a rebound from an Ilianna Santangelo save. 

F&M maintained the offensive possession, andCole was able to find the back of the cage in the 32nd minute off a pass from Katie O'Loughlin to even the score going into the half.

The Diplomats owned the shot advantage in the first frame 11-7 and penalty corners 5-3. Santangelo recorded three saves.

Ursinus came out with two quick shots to start the second half, but a save from Santangelo and a block kept the contest even. F&M looked to take the lead in the 57th minute, firing three quick shots but were unable to find the back of the cage.

F&M held a slight advantage in shots 19-16 and penalty corners 10-8. Santangelo's eight saves were good for the win.The Diplomats return to action on Wednesday, hosting Gettysburg for a 7:00 p.m. contest at Tylus Field.

The Diplomats return to action on Wednesday, hosting Gettysburg for a 7:00 p.m. contest at Tylus Field.