Women’s Rowing Ready for MARC Championships

Women’s Rowing Ready for MARC Championships

LANCASTER, Pa. - Franklin & Marshall women's rowing returns for the 11th annual Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference (MARC) Championships on Saturday. The Diplomats travel to Gifford Pinchot State Park in Lewisberry to take on the MARC's 11 other member teams.

Saturday's opening race is slated for an 8:00 a.m. start. To view the order of events and following along with the competition, click here.

The MARC Champion will earn an automatic qualification to the NCAA Division III Championships, held in Indianapolis, Ind., from May 31-June 1. 

MARC Championship History

F&M has finished in the top three at each of the last three MARC Championships. Last year, the Diplomats claimed third by totaling 22 points - only one point shy of second place -  as continuous thunderstorms forced an early finish at the Championships.

The program's best finish in the event is second, which the Diplomats earned twice with the most recent being at the 2017 Championships. 

A Look at F&M 

F&M heads into the weekend as a strong contender in the First Varsity 8+ event. The Diplomats' boat has been particularly dominant of late and has earned each of the last two MARC Crew of the Week awards following first-place finishes at the Knecht Cup (April 13-14) and Kerr Cup (April 20). 

A Look at the Field 

Washington College, who received nine votes to fall just short of the top-15 in the latest USRowing/CRCA National Poll, is the six-time defending champion, while Johnson & Wales returns to the water fresh off its second-place showing a year ago. 

Cabrini, Bryn Mawr, and St. Mary's, join Franklin & Marshall with boats looking to score points in the Varsity 8+ races.


The women's MARC champion will be determined based solely on the First Varsity 8+ and Second Varsity 8+ events.

The Second Varsity 8+ Grand Final is set to begin at 2:40 p.m., while the First Varsity 8+ Grand Final is slated for a 3:30 p.m. start. 

Follow Along

Action is set to begin at 8:00 a.m. on Saturday. To follow race results throughout the day, click here.