National Wrestling Hall of Fame to Honor F&M's Roy Phillips on April 27th "Hall of Fame Day"

LANCASTER, PA - The National Wrestling Hall of Fame, Pennsylvania Chapter, will honor legendary Franklin & Marshall College coach Roy Phillips with "The Lifetime Service Award" from the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum, Stillwater, Oklahoma at the Ninth Annual "Hall of Fame Day" banquet.

The banquet is slated to be held at The Crown Plaza Hotel, Harrisburg, PA on Saturday, April 27, 2002 with former F&M coach Stan Zeamer, Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Michael Clair, Executive Director of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, presenting the awards.

Phillips entered F&M in 1930 from Dalmatia High School in Delaware where her participated in the only sports offered at the school - baseball and track. However, he caught on quickly and recorded 34 victories in 36 dual meets, 33 of them by falls.

As a freshman under the aegis of the late Wilbur "Dutch" Lehman, Roy pinned every opponent he faced. In 1933, competing at 135 pounds, he finished as the runner-up in the National Collegiate Tournament at Lehigh University. In his senior year at 145, he was undefeated and captained an undefeated team that led to his selection as an All-American, the first in the history of Franklin & Marshall College wrestling.

Following graduation, his first job was as an assistant at Upper Merion in 1940 through 1942. He was selected as an interim coach at the University of Pennsylvania in 1942-43 and led the Quakers to a 6-2 record and a second place finish in the Eastern Collegiate Tournament.

From 1943 through 1949 he coached Valley Forge Military Academy to two unbeaten seasons and then returned to his alma mater the following year to take over the F&M coaching reins

Roy coached the Diplomats for 18 years posting a record of 118 victories against 68 loses and seven ties. From 1953-58, he also served as baseball coach compiling a record of 25-58-2.

He relinquished his coaching duties in 1967 to become Director of Athletics at F&M. From 1967 through 1970 he was the president of the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (EIWA), a singular honor for a man representing the smallest institution in the EIWA.

Roy served on the NCAA rules and tournament committees from 1967 to 1971; he was a member official of the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA) for 20 years; he was a member of the American Wrestling Coaches Association for 25 years and was a co-founder and co-director of the F&M Summer Wrestling Clinic held from 1967-71. In addition, he served as secretary-treasurer of the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Coaches Association from 1956 to '59 and moved up to the presidency, a title he held in 1960-61.

The purpose of the banquet is to honor and recognize people for their years of commitment as positive role models to student athletes. This year eight other Pennsylvania men will be honored including Walt Price, Joe Geesey, Cleon Cassel and the following deceased, Floyd "Shorty" Hitchcock, Sherwood S. Hollobaugh and George Custer. William R. Gamber II will be honored with the "Outstanding American from the State of Pennsylvania Award" and Dean Cordel Musser will receive the "Medal of Courage Award." Both men will be permanently recognized at the National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum.