Rogers Named Member of 2016 EWL Hall of Fame Class

Rogers Named Member of  2016 EWL Hall of Fame Class

LANCASTER, Pa. – Franklin & Marshall wrestling head coach Mike Rogers was announced as one of 10 individuals to be inducted into the Eastern Wrestling League (EWL) Hall of Fame Class of 2016.

The 10 individuals are being inducted on Saturday, March 5 at 6:00 p.m., before the start of the EWL Finals being hosted by Lock Haven. 

A former standout on the mat at Lock Haven University, Rogers graduated in 1997 with 112 career wins, a mark that still places 10th on the program's all-time list. His 23 major decisions are tied for first all-time while his .800 win percentage (112-28) is good for eighth. 

Rogers was a two-time EWL Champion and a two-time All-American during the 1996 and 1997 seasons. A three-time Division I national championship qualifier, Rogers earned the 1996 Gorrarian Award, recording the most pins in the least amount of time at nationals. He was a member of the 1997 EWL Championship team that placed fifth at the NCAA Tournament and was also one of only seven Bald Eagles to win four PSAC titles. 

The EWL is an NCAA Division I wrestling-only conference that is made up of seven institutions, including Bloomsburg, Clarion, Cleveland State, Edinboro, George Mason, Lock Haven and Rider.

Rogers is in the midst of his sixth year at the helm of Franklin & Marshall wrestling. He has sent a Diplomat wrestler to the NCAA Tournament in four of his five seasons in Lancaster and has guided F&M to eight Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (EIWA) place winnings.