Diplomats Capture Rupp Cup

Diplomats Capture Rupp Cup

Franklin & Marshall won three of the final four bouts at Millersville to pick up a 22-13 win over the Marauders in the Fourth Annual Battle for the Rupp Cup. The win marks the first time the Diplomats (4-9) have taken the Cup from the Marauders (2-10) since its inception in 2008.

The teams were knotted 10-10 heading into the 174-pound bout, where the Diplomats' Matt Fullowan (23-11) gave F&M the lead for good with a methodical 4-1 decision of Shane Smith (26-10). After a scoreless first period, Smith chose bottom where Fullowan kept him for the duration of the second. F&M's junior escaped off of the whistle and secured a takedown that nearly resulted in a pin midway through the third. Smith dodged the fall on a locked hands call, but could not avoid the loss.

While Fullowan gave F&M the boost it needed, it was Matt Latessa (6-14) that provided the big push down the stretch. Latessa threw Jason Foor (3-17) straight to his back for what appeared to be a sure pin. The fall was not to be as Foor's shoulder popped when it hit the mat, leaving Latessa with a win by injury default, his fifth-consecutive victory, and the Diplomats with a nine-point lead.

Despite giving up 16-pounds, F&M's Colin Lahiff (1-12) only gave up three points at 197. Lahiff, who started the season at 157, was filling in for Colin Ely, who had not lost in dual met competition this season. The freshman frustrated Dan Cox (8-18) and flirted with a few takedowns on the Marauders' 197-pounder.

"I am extraordinarily proud of the intensity we had throughout the lineup tonight," said W. Roy Phillips Wrestling Coach, Mike Rogers. "But Colin's effort really displayed the kind of tenacity we are trying to make a staple in our wrestling room."

Heavyweight Daniel Canfield (11-17) took any doubt out of things countering several throws for takedowns of Millersville's Bradley Ladd (10-20). The senior's effort sealed F&M's first win over Millersville in eight matches, running the Diplomats' winning streak to four consecutive matches. It is F&M's longest winning streak since taking five in January of 2007.

Canfield sealed the deal, but Jake Bucha (27-4) set the tone at 133 with an early second period pin of Daniel Calzarette (2-14). The victory was the 75th for the senior, moving him alongside of Greg Knox '98 in career wins at F&M. The pin was Bucha's fourth in five bouts and seventh of the season.

The teams traded major decisions over the next two bouts. Andrew Murano (7-13) took down Steve Hess six times to pick up his fifth straight victory. At 157 pounds, Eric Norgard (7-17) had a single in with 15 seconds left in the match, but was unable to close on it before the final buzzer, falling 6-5.

With the win, the Rupp Cup comes to F&M for the first time. The Cup is named in honor of Theodore "Ted" Rupp, F&M Class of 1935. No one did more to advance wrestling in Lancaster County than Rupp. He was honored in the fall of 2008 at the F&M Academy Reunion, where the trophy bearing his name was formally introduced. In honor of his distinguished service to both institutions, the Rupp Cup is now awarded to the winner of the annual meeting between Franklin & Marshall and Millersville.

A student at the F&M Academy and Franklin & Marshall, Rupp maintained strong ties to both his alma mater and Millersville University. In 1948-49, Rupp coached both Millersville and F&M, finishing with a 20-2 combined record. That is believed to have been the only time in collegiate wrestling history when one man coached two colleges concurrently.

The Diplomats are idle until the EIWA Championships.

Franklin & Marshall 22, Millersville 13

125: Not contested                                               

133: Jake Bucha (F) pinned Daniel Calzarette, 3:25

141: Mike Greck (M) maj. dec. Aaron Velasquez, 14 - 5

149: Andrew Murano (F) maj. dec. Steve Hess, 15 - 4

157: Dakota Kuhn (M) dec. Eric Norgard , 6 - 5

165: Brandon Vernalli (M) dec. Anthony Bongarzone, 10 - 3

174: Matt Fullowan (F) dec. Shane Smith, 4 - 1

184: Matt  Latessa (F) by inj. def. Jason Foor, 1:05

197: Daniel Cox (M) dec. Colin Lahiff, 3 - 1

285: Daniel Canfield (F) dec. Bradley Ladd, 10 – 3


Rupp Cup Results

2/22/08 – Millersville 31, F&M 16

2/20/09 – Millersville 23, F&M 18

2/19/10 – Millersville 29, F&M 16

2/18/11 – F&M 22, Millersville 13