Diplomats Set for CC Championships

Diplomats Set for CC Championships

CC Championship Homepage

LANCASTER, Pa. – Franklin & Marshall heads to Carlisle on Friday for day one of the Centennial Conference (CC) Track and Field Championships. The three-day meet, hosted by Dickinson, kicks off at 1:00 p.m. on Friday with the pole vault, decathlon, and 10,000-meter run. On Saturday, competition will begin at 8:45 a.m. and Sunday's scheduled start time is 11:00 a.m.

The Diplomats took third place at the 2015 championships, and will look to improve on last year's impressive haul of eight medals.

Evan Friend comes into the championships looking to continue his dominance in the sprints after winning both the 100- and 200-meter dash last season. This year, he is the top seed in the 200, where his time of 21.77 is more than half a second faster than his closest competition. He also enters the weekend seeded third in the 100 with a time of 11.02, while Brad Krell is seeded eighth in the event with a mark of 11.39.

Sophomore Michael Hoffman comes in as the favorite in both hurdle events after earning a pair of silver medals last year. This year, his mark of 15.04 is the conference's best in the 110-meter hurdles, while his time of 55.92 in the 400-meter edition is more than 0.6 faster than the second seed, Grant Mosser of Johns Hopkins.

Logan Lewis leads the F&M charge in the throws, looking to repeat as last year's champion in the shot put. The sophomore will again be the favorite this year, as his mark of 15.94 meters (52'-3.75") is more than five feet farther than his closest competition. He is also in the hunt in the discus, seeded third with a distance of 46.15 meters (151'-5").

Ryan Kozloski joins Lewis in the throws, as his distance of 56.75 meters (186'-2") in the javelin is the conference's third-best this season. Tanner Erisman enters as the fourth seed with a mark of 53.66 meters (176'-0").

Kozloski is also in the mix in the triple jump, coming in as the eighth seed with a distance of 12.43 meters (40'-9.5").

Michael Whalen is the eighth seed for the 3000-meter steeplechase, in which he took ninth last year, after recording a time of 10:06.47 at the Little Three Meet on April 2. Brien Miceli is the 14th seed with a mark of 10:17.66.