Rueppel Named Centennial Coach of the Year

Rueppel Named Centennial Coach of the Year

LANCASTER, Pa. - Bob Rueppel, the head coach of Franklin & Marshall College's Centennial Conference (CC) Championship swimming teams, was named the CC Men's Swimming Coach of the Year. The league's coaches vote for the award.

Rueppel led the Diplomats' men through their third consecutive Centennial dual meet season without a loss, and guided the team to its sixth consecutive Centennial title and eighth overall. Franklin & Marshall senior, Tom Grabiak earned his third CC Championship Outstanding Performer Award for his hand in seven gold medals.

Rueppel will steer the Diplomat through the NCAA National Championships in March. Grabiak enters with the nation's top time in the 100-yard breaststroke. He also owns the fourth best time in the 200-yard breaststroke and the fifth fastest time entering the 200-yard individual medley.

Bryn Mawr's Nikki Whitlock was named the CC Women's Swimming Coach of the Year. Whitlock guided her young team to 249 points at the championship meet, a season removed from a roster shortage that left the Owls with 92 points. Franklin & Marshall's women won the conference title for the third time.

Rueppel is the second F&M coach to earn Coach of the Year honors during the 2009-2010 academic year. John Troxell earned the honor after leading his team to the ECAC South Atlantic Championship.