Diplomats Stare Down Own Record

Diplomats Stare Down Own Record

Session 5 Results

The Centennial Conference men's swimming championship appears to be in hand for Franklin & Marshall, the issue now appears to be tackling the Centennial's record for team points in the championship meet. That record currently stands at 870, set by F&M in 2005 a squad ably captained by Patrick Godfrey. F&M needs 242.5 points to reset that mark. F&M will field 12 swimmers in the championships and three more in the consolations for the final assault, which gets underway at McGinness pool at 6:00 p.m.

The 1,650-yard freestyle is being contested over two sessions. The Diplomats have two swimmers competing for those points.

Tom Grabiak established early that F&M has no intention of relenting. Moments after Swarthmore's Sterling Satterfield posted an NCAA B-Cut in the 200-yard breaststroke in the second preliminary, Grabiak answered with a new Centennial Championship meet record and B-Cut time of 2:05.05. Satterfield logged a 2:07.46.

The Diplomats landed four in finals of 200-yard backstroke. Matt Jaffee, Conor Finnegan and David Fell went 2-3-4 in the preliminary, while Greg Mackinnon qualified eighth. Gettysburg's Adam Taft posted the top qualifier with a time of 1:55.24, Jaffee touched at 1:55.42.

Peter Fishler, Matt Woods and David Apple each qualified for the 100-yard freestyle finals. Fishler posted the second best qualifying mark with a 46.7, finishing behind Swarthmore's Douglas Gilchrest-Scott, who reset the Centennial standard with a time of 46.48. Woods was the third qualifier at 47.16, with Apple qualifying seventh at 48.19.

Mason Wash and Eliot Scymanski will look for points in the finals of the 200-yard butterfly. Wash clocked the fastest qualifier, making his final touch at 1:58.04. Scymanski came in fourth with a 2:03.12.

The final session of the three-day championship gets underway at 6:00 p.m. Real-time results and live video are available on GoDiplomats.com.