Diplomats to Face No. 9 Virginia at CSAs

Diplomats to Face No. 9 Virginia at CSAs

Tournament Homepage | Hoehn Cup History | Live Brackets

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - Franklin & Marshall's No. 16 men's squash team earned a spot in the Hoehn Cup (B Division) of this weekend's Collegiate Squash Association (CSA) Team Championships.

Competition opens with the First Round on Friday at 4:00 p.m. against No. 9 Virginia. 

The three-day tournament is hosted by Yale University with the 7-8 Playoff game occurring on the campus of Wesleyan University. 

To view the complete bracket, click here

A Look at the Bracket 

F&M and Virginia are meeting for the third time this season with the Cavaliers winning a pair of narrow 5-4 decisions. Last time out on Feb. 3, the Diplomats battled back from a 4-2 deficit at the Mid-Atlantic Championships to tie the team score before dropping a heartbreaking contest at No. 3.

The opening-round winner advances to the Semifinals on Saturday at 3:00 p.m. to take on either No. 12 Navy or No. 13 Drexel. St. Lawrence (No. 11) battles Cornell (No. 14) and Western Ontario (No. 10) squares off against George Washington (No. 15) in the brackets other two matchups. 

Sunday's Championship contest is slated for an 11:00 a.m. start at Yale University. 

A Look at F&M

F&M heads into the weekend with a 14-6 record and an 8-2 mark in its last 10 contests. The Diplomats closed out the regular season on Sunday with a hard-fought 5-4 loss against No. 12 Navy on the road. 

Several of F&M's student-athletes are enjoying career seasons throughout the ladder. Sanjay Jeeva is 14-3 competing between No.'s 1-2, Yannis Senkel is 15-4 at No.'s 2-6, Aryan Parekh has accumulated a 15-4 mark at No.'s 4-6, and Matthew Dukarm is 16-4 overall at No.'s 5-8. 

Ricardo Machado has won three straight and is now 10-3 on the year at No.'s 7-9, while Silvio Soom has also reached double-digit wins at 11-7 between the No. 2-4 spots. 

Hoehn Cup History 

An annual matchup of the nation's No. 9-16 teams, F&M has won the Hoehn Cup (B Division) Title on three occasions, securing the championship in 1991, 1995, and 1996, and is competing in the bracket for the first time since the 2016-17 season.

The Hoehn Cup is named for Edward "Red" Hoehn. Hoehn was hired to coach Dartmouth's men's team in 1938 and guided the Big Green for 25 years. He was inducted into the Men's College Squash Hall of Fame in 1990.

For a complete history of the Hoehn Cup, click here.