F&M Edged Out by Dartmouth

F&M Edged Out by Dartmouth

PRINCETON, N.J. - Franklin & Marshall concluded its season of team competition with a 6-3 defeat at the hands of Dartmouth in the consolation bracket of the College Squash Association (CSA) Potter Cup (A Division) Championships on Sunday afternoon. The No. 8 Diplomats finish the year at 11-9, while the No. 7 Big Green wrap up their season at 10-8.

The match was tight all throughout the lineup as five positions went at least four games and each of the matchups featured close scores. Guilherme de Melo finished off an undefeated weekend with a victory at the No. 2 position, while Sujat Barua and Pat Cunningham posted triumphs at the No. 7 and No. 9 spots, respectively.

de Melo completed a 3-0 weekend mark with a four-game win over Nick Sisodia to move to 18-2 on the year. The junior took the first game 11-6, but Sisodia captured a marathon second game, 22-20, to square the match. de Melo responded with a pair of 11-8 wins in a games three and four to notch the victory.

Barua downed Fletcher Pease in straight games, 11-8, 11-7, 11-7, while Cunningham shook off a first game defeat against Brian O'Toole to win in four games, 7-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-9.

At No. 3, Mauricio Sedano narrowly fell to Luke Lee in a back-and-forth five-gamer. Sedano secured the first game 11-9, Lee fought back to take game two 13-11, and Sedano once again captured the lead with a 13-11 game three triumph. Lee then notched 11-8, 11-9 wins in the final two games to tally the victory.

F&M returns to the court on Friday, March 2 for day one of the CSA Individual Championships at Amherst.

#7 Dartmouth 6, #8 Franklin & Marshall 3

1. Chris Hanson (DC) def. Gabriel de Melo (F&M) 12-10, 11-8, 5-11, 11-9
2. Guilherme de Melo (F&M) def. Nick Sisodia (DC) 11-6, 20-22, 11-8, 11-8
3. Luke Lee (DC) def. Mauricio Sedano (F&M) 9-11, 13-11, 11-13, 11-8, 11-9
4. Chris Jung (DC) def. Alex Arjoon (F&M) 11-5, 13-11, 11-4
5. Robbie Maycock (DC) def. Ryan Mullaney (F&M) 11-7, 11-2, 7-11, 11-6
6. Stephen Wetherill (DC) def. Aadit Zaveri (F&M) 11-6, 11-5, 11-9
7. Sujat Barua (F&M) def. Fletcher Pease (DC) 11-8, 11-7, 11-7
8. Alex Kurth (DC) def. Brian Henry (F&M) 11-3, 9-11, 11-5, 11-7
9. Pat Cunningham (F&M) def. Brian O'Toole (DC) 7-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-9
Exh. Michael Mistras (DC) def. Freddy Hernandez (F&M) 11-8, 11-7, 11-6