Plattsburgh State Captures 2008 Scrapyard Classic

Plattsburgh State Captures 2008 Scrapyard Classic

Box Score

LANCASTER, Pa. - Plattsburgh State's  Joshua Cookfair netted the game-winning goal in the 28th minute to lead the Cardinals over No. 21 Franklin & Marshall 1-0 to capture the 2008 Scrapyard Classic on Sunday. 

Cookfair sent his volley shot from six yards out into the back of the net from a loose ball deflected off a defender for the lone goal of the game, handing the Diplomats (1-1) their first-ever regular season loss on the two-year old North Campus Athletic Field.

Senior All-American goalkeeper John San Filippo, who only allowed four goals in 2007, was challenged by one shot on the afternoon to post his second shut out of the weekend for Plattsburgh State.

Sophomore Rodrigo Nogales managed to take the only shot for F&M, coming in the second half. Zach Zamek made five saves in the net.

Defender and senior captain Danny Shuptar prevented the Cardinals from scoring in the 24th minute of the game with a slide with a slide tackle in the box to prevent a one-on-one situation with Zamek.  

The Cardinals held a 13-1 advantage in shots and an 8-0 edge in corner kicks.

The Diplomats return to action tomorrow on Friday against Roanoake at the Elizabethtown Tournament. Game time is 5 p.m.

Tournament Champion: Plattsburgh State

Plattsburgh State All-Tournament Selections: Andrew Fusco (M), Dave Hickman (M), Bart Misiak (D), Mike Pinamonti (D), John San Filippo (GK).

Franklin & Marshall All-Tournament Selections: Matt Krantz (M), Rodrigo Nogales (F), Dan Shuptar (D).

Gwynedd-Mercy All-Tournament Selections: Tim Mumford (M), Walt Mikolajewski (M)