Diplomats Dominate CC Championship; Svigals Crowned Champion

Diplomats Dominate CC Championship; Svigals Crowned Champion

WILMINGTON, Del. – Franklin & Marshall won the 2015 Centennial Conference (CC) Championship with a record-breaking 30-stroke victory over second place finisher McDaniel (912) at the Dupont Country Club Sunday evening. The Diplomats three-day total of 882 reset their own championship record set last season for the lowest score in tournament history.

F&M had three golfers place in the top two and all five members of its championship squad finished in the top-10. The 21st-ranked Diplomats have won nine tournaments this season, which leads the nation among all three divisions and marks the most successful season in program history.

The CC Crown is the seventh for F&M, sixth in the last eight years and the 13th overall conference title for the Diplomats. The seven CC Crowns tied McDaniel for the most team titles in CC history.

Robert Svigals took medalist honors with a conference record of 219 (76-69-74) to lead the Diplomats. Daniel Furman and Brad Lankler tied for second in the 35-player field. Furman improved in every round with a total of 224 (78-76-70) while Lankler shaved off seven strokes from day one and two strokes from the second round to finish at 224 (80-73-71). All three were named First Team All-Centennial Conference.

Christopher Gabriele garnered Rookie of the Year accolades with a seventh-place finish on the par-71, 6,763-yard course. The freshman shot 76-73-79 for a three-round total of 228 and Stephen Colodny finished in ninth place at 229 (74-83-72).

The Diplomats earned the conference's automatic qualifier into the NCAA Division II National Championship with the victory as the NCAA appearance in the 10th in program history. The four-day, 72-hole tournament will start on May 12th in Greensboro, N.C. at the Grandover Resort.