Warner Leads Diplomats to CC Title

Warner Leads Diplomats to CC Title

HARRISBURG, Pa. – Cameron Warner took the top spot and Danny Liebowitz finished fifth to deliver Franklin & Marshall the 2012 Centennial Conference (CC) Championship.  Warner finished in a three-way tie for first, but his birdie on the first playoff hole proved to be the difference, as he became just the third golfer in program history to win a conference title. 

The CC Crown is fifth for F&M, fourth in the last five years, and the 10th overall conference championship.  The tournament win is the seventh for the Diplomats this season. 

F&M finished with 931 (314-303-314) four strokes ahead of runner-up Swarthmore (935). Dickinson (937) took third and McDaniel, the 2011 champions, came in fourth with 937, followed by Gettysburg (975) and Muhlenberg (994)

Warner finished the final round with 75 for a combined tournament score of 225 (76-74-75).  McDaniel's Greg Bowman and Swarthmore's Paul Weston were the other two players in the first place tie while Andrew Park from Swarthmore took fourth in 54-hole tournament at Blue Ridge Country Club. 

Liebowitz earned All-CC honors with his fifth place finish and carded 213 (80-72-79) on the par-72, 6,615-yard course.  Robert Svigals shot an 80 to finish with a combined score of 234 for ninth place. Brendan Mohler placed 18th with 244 (85-79-80) and Kevin Goserud tied for 22nd at 247 (82-82-83).

The Diplomats earned the conference's automatic qualifier into the NCAA Division III National Championships. The NCAA appearance will be the eighth in program history. The four-day, 72-hole tournament will start on May 15th at the Mission Inn Resort & Club in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida, just northwest of Orlando.