Eager and Lovett All-Region

Eager and Lovett All-Region

Complete Team

LANCASTER, Pa. - Franklin & Marshall College seniors, George Eager (Lititz, Pa./Manheim Twp.) and Barry Lovett (Brooklyn, N.Y. / Poly Prep), were named to the D3Football.com All-South Region Third Team on Thursday. Eager earned a spot at receiver and as a kick returner, while Lovett earned his spot at cornerback.

The all-region nod is the first for both Diplomats.

Eager appeared in the D3 Senior All-Star Classic in Salem, Va., after hauling in 89 passes for 1,169 yards and 11 touchdowns in 2009. His 8.04 receptions per game ranked 13th in NCAA DIII. He averaged 13.6 yards per catch and 106.3 yards per game, the 19th best average in the NCAA.  His 89 receptions represent a single season record at F&M, while his 11 touchdowns and 1,169 yards both rank second in Diplomats' history. He returned two kickoffs for touchdowns in 2009. His touchdown return against Dickinson went 80 yards, while his return against Moravian went 85. In just three seasons at F&M, the senior became the first Diplomat to amass 4,000 All-Purpose Yards and three kickoff returns for touchdowns.

Lovett, who will play in the Tzaon de Estrellas, was named to the All-Centennial Conference First Team for the second time in as many years in 2009. That follows a season in which he broke up five passes and picked off three more. Lovett was the only defensive player unanimously selected to the first team. He rolled up 74 yards on his three interception returns, including a 62-yard return for a touchdown at McDaniel. That marked the second week in as many that Lovett had scored. He scooped and scored from 69-yards out in the win over Muhlenberg.  Lovett had 33 tackles on the season, including 27 solo stops. His five tackles for losses included one sack.

Franklin & Marshall went 9-2 in 2009, including a win in the ECAC South Atlantic Bowl. Head coach John Troxell was named the Centennial Conference's Coach of the Year and is one of five finalists for the Division III Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.