Diplomat Boats Secure Two Wins at Head of the Occoquan

Diplomat Boats Secure Two Wins at Head of the Occoquan

FAIRFAX STATION, Va. – Franklin & Marshall's men's rowing team concluded the fall portion of its schedule at the Head of the Occoquan Regatta in Fairfax Station, Va. on Saturday. A pair of the Diplomats' five boats secured first-place showings in the event.

James Nelson competed in the Lightweight Single race for F&M and took the win in a field of eight competitors with a time of 19:36.59, nearly six seconds ahead of the second-place finisher. 

In the Lightweight 4+ race, a boat of Tamir Shemesh (coxswain), James Nelson (4), Sean Hyland (3), Ben Carroll (2) and Aidan Molloy (1) also won their event, beating out a field of three competitors with a time of 17:57.27. LaSalle was second at 18:40.53. 

The Diplomats' Novice 4+ boat (Maude Collins (coxswain), Ben Carroll, Garrett White, Steven Nicodemo and Lukas Grattan)) also had a solid showing on the day by recording a second-place finish out of 16 boats with a time of 18:50.46. Marietta won the event at 18:00.46. 

Two boats took part in the Varsity 8+ race. A team of Ryan Paulekas (coxswain), Jonathan Munro (8), Aidan Molloy (7), Craig Fanto (6), Sean Hyland (5), Calvin Coffeen (4), Trexler Hirn (3), Joel Cannon (2) and Brandon Schneider (1) led the way with a 16th-place effort at 16:49.49. 

F&M's Second Varsity 8+ boat (Tyler Lu (coxswain), Pierce Lawlor (8), Chris Howe-Smith (7), Javier Ricardo (6), Pablo Portela-Lomba (5), Liam Chan Hodges (4), Aditya Chawla (3), Sam Parsons (2) and Ngoun Lay (1)) registered 29th in the event at 19:33.50.

The Diplomats return to action in the spring with the Murphy Cup in Philadelphia on March 25.