Federici Named Finalist for Jostens Trophy

Federici Named Finalist for Jostens Trophy

LANCASTER, Pa. – Franklin & Marshall junior Brandon Federici was named a finalist for the prestigious Jostens Trophy announced on Tuesday. The honor marks the first a member of the Franklin & Marshall men's basketball team was named a finalist for the award.

Only 10 men's student-athletes from 434 Division III schools around the nation are named as a finalist for the trophy. The Jostens Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding NCAA Division III men's and women's basketball player who excels on the court, in the classroom, and in the community.  This season marks the 20th presentation of the awards, with the inaugural trophies bestowed in 1998. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess, and community service.

The award is the highest honor a Division III basketball player can receive.

Federici became just the eighth player in Conference history to earn first-team All-Centennial honors three times after being named a unanimous selection this season. The junior led the conference with 19.9 points per game and his 2.2 steals per game, along with 3.2 triples a contest also placed him first in CC, while his 35.2 minutes per contest were second. Federici finished in double-figures in 25 games, including 14 games with 20 or more points. He matched a career-high 34 points against Muhlenberg, and earlier in the season, became the fastest player to reach 1,000 point career points. 

He strives to help those in need off the court and is involved in several organizations to help youth throughout his home state of New Jersey.  Federici is the vice president and Co-Founder of Urban Pages, he volunteers at the Trenton Area Soup Kitchen and as a tutor for writing and SAT preparation in Monmouth, N.J. He is also involved with Souls for Souls annual shoe drive to benefit less fortunate children in New Jersey. 

The 10 finalist are: Harrison Blackledge (Hope College), Sam Borst-Smith (University of Rochester), AJ Edwards (Marietta College), Brandon Federici (Franklin & Marshall College), Evan Greening (Pitt-Bradford), DeShawn Lowman (Neumann University), Armin Omanovic (Lasell College), Matt St. Amour (Middlebury College), Zach Wallace (Rockford University), Steven Weidlich (Susquehanna University).

The Salem Rotary Club's Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating to narrow the list of finalists so that the decision can be made on the most objective basis possible. The 10 finalists continue through the review process, with a national selection committee of 32 individuals – of coaches, administrations and media members -- charged with determining the two winners, one male, one female, of the 2017 Jostens Trophy honors. 

The award presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 16 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the NCAA Division III men's basketball semifinals and championship in Salem, Va, on March 17-18. Additional information on the award can be found here.