Santangelo, Marano Earn Top Honors at Annual Luncheon

Santangelo, Marano Earn Top Honors at Annual Luncheon

LANCASTER, Pa. - Ilianna Santangelo of the field hockey team and Dan Marano of the baseball team were presented with the highest honors given to Franklin & Marshall senior athletes at the annual awards luncheon on Monday in the Mayser Center. 

Santangelo won the Karvasales Outstanding Senior Athlete Award while Marano was honored with the Garrigues Outstanding Senior Athlete Award. The Garrigues and Karvasales awards are given to the male and female senior athletes that displayed cumulative outstanding athletic and academic achievements over a four-year period. 

Santangelo (Sudbury, Mass. / Saint Marks) wrapped up her stellar four-year career as one of the most decorated and accomplished goalkeepers in F&M field hockey history. She is the program record holder in career wins (64), total shutouts (32), and lowest goals against average mark (0.96). 

Named to both the Longstreth/NFHCA Division III and Synapse Sports All-America Second Teams following a senior campaign in which she finished fourth in the country in goals-against average (0.53) and fifth in save percentage (.851), Santangelo also landed on the All-Region and All-Centennial Conference (CC) First Teams. Santangelo collected a total of three All-CC honors during her career, including a pair of First Team nods, and was named to the Synapse Sports All-Rookie team as a first year. 

Marano (Maple Shade, N.J. / Bishop Eustace) has his name scattered throughout the F&M baseball record book as one of best hitters to don a Diplomat uniform. As the Centennial Rookie of the Year in 2015 and the Conference Player of the Year as a junior in 2018, Marano is the only player in Centennial history to claim both feats. The standout first baseman is also a two-time All-Region Third Team honoree and a two-time All-CC First Team member.

Statistically, Marano has put together a stellar four-year career as the program's all-time RBI leader with 112, while his 173 hits are good for second on F&M's list. His appearance in the top-10 of several additional categories also includes batting average, games started, total at-bats, doubles, home runs, total bases, sacrifice flys, total defensive putouts, and double plays turned. 

Maggie Hanzsche (Berwyn, Pa. / Conestoga) of the women's lacrosse team and Spencer Lyman (New Canaan, Conn. / New Cannan) of the men's cross country and track & field teams garnered the Student-Athletic Leadership Committee (SALC) Sportsmanship Award. The Sportsmanship Award is bestowed upon a male and female athlete who has demonstrated consistently good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in his/her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics. He/she must also have demonstrated good citizenship outside of an athletic competition setting and be in good academic standing. 

Juliana Keagle (Catonsville, Md. / Catonsville) of the field hockey team and Tyler Schubert (Mechanicsburg, Pa. / Mechanicsburg Area) of the football team were awarded the second annual Athletic Director's Award for Leadership Distinction. The award recognizes two graduating seniors for exemplary leadership that has transformed their lives, the lives of their teammates, as well as fellow student-athletes. 

Anna Hess (Dallastown, Pa. / Dallastown Area) of the women's swimming team and Cole Niggeman (Devon, Pa. / Conestoga) of the men's soccer team were honored with the Delphic Student-Athlete Award. The award is given to the male and female senior athletes with the highest cumulative grade point average at the conclusion of the fall semester. He/she must have achieved the highest level of excellence in athletics, community service, and academics.  In accordance with the College's Delphic Student-Athlete Honor Society, the recipients must also embody the ideals of mind, body, and spirit.