Five Named to Centennial Silver Anniversary Team - Men's Lacrosse

Five Named to Centennial Silver Anniversary Team - Men's Lacrosse

Complete CC Silver Anniversary Team - Men's Lacrosse

LANCASTER, Pa. - Five former Franklin & Marshall student-athletes earned a spot on the Centennial Conference (CC) Silver Anniversary Team for men's lacrosse, announced by the league office on Thursday. Chris Mergardt '96, Tom Coleman '98, Matt Capone '05, Andrew Setian '12, and Sean Rogers '18 were all honored by the Conference.

The Centennial Silver Anniversary teams are in celebration of the Conference's first 25 years of competition, which began in 1993. During July and the first two weeks of August, the CC will honor its member schools' most-distinguished student-athletes in 24 sports.

Criteria for the inclusion of a team are as follows:

Must be a graduate of the institution AND one of the following:

  • 3-time or 4-time first-team All-Centennial performer (win same event in swimming, track)
  • 2-time Centennial Player of the Year
  • 1st team All-America AND 2-time first-team All-Centennial performer
  • 2-time All-America (1st, 2nd or 3rd team)

Chris Mergardt '96 

Mergardt was one of the most prolific scorers in F&M men's lacrosse history and a three-time First Team All-Centennial Selection. He was an All-America selection in 1995 and 1996 and was the Centennial Conference's leading goal scorer all four years of his career - making him the only player in CC and Franklin & Marshall history to accomplish that feat. He finished his career with 192 goals, 45 assists, and 237 points to rank second in points. He was elected into the F&M Athletic Hall of Fame in 2006.

Tom Coleman '98 

Coleman, a defensive midfielder and three-year captain for the Diplomats, became the second F&M player and the third player in CC history to be named first-team all-conference three times. He was named an All-American following his senior season.

Matt Capone '05

Capone was a three-time All-CC First Team selection with honors in 2003, 2004, and 2005. He was the NCAA all-division record holder in face-off winning percentage after recording an 86.4 percentage in 2003. Capone led the Centennial Conference for three straight years in face-offs. He still holds the F&M record in ground balls per game (5.79) and face-off win percentage at 72.4 percent.

Andrew Setian '12

Setian was just the 23rd player in Conference history to earn All-CC First Team honors three times. He was named an All-American following his senior season and finished his career as the all-time leader in groundballs (232) and ranked second in face-off percentage, winning 510 of 833 (.612).

Sean Rogers '18

Rogers was just the second player in program history to earn All-America honors three times, while also landing on the All-CC First Team for three consecutive seasons - becoming just the 28th player in the history of the league to accomplish that feat. The attacker became just the second player in program history to tally 250 or more points. He left Lancaster ranked second in school history in both points (262) and assists (117), while finishing third with 145 goals.