Senior Awards Announced at Annual Luncheon

Senior Awards Announced at Annual Luncheon

LANCASTER, Pa. – Rebecca Swisher and Rick Durso were presented with the highest honors given to Franklin & Marshall senior athletes at the annual awards luncheon on Monday in the Mayser Center. Swisher won the Karvasales Outstanding Senior Athlete Award while Durso was honored with the Garrigues Outstanding Senior Athlete Award. The Garrigues and Karvasales awards are given to the male and female senior athletes that display cumulative outstanding athletic and academic achievements over a four-year period. 

Swisher (Lititz, Pa. / Lancaster Catholic) has competed at the NCAA Championships four times in her career, and recently qualified for her fifth appearance, and is a three-time All-American in the pole vault. Her highest finish came last season when she earned fourth place in the country. She holds both the indoor and outdoor school records for the pole vault.  Swisher was named the 2016 Women's Centennial Conference (CC) Indoor Field Event Athlete of the year, is a four-time Centennial Conference (CC) Champion in the indoor pole vault and a four-time champion in the outdoor pole vault.

Durso (Broomall, Pa. / Malvern Prep) became the first two-time EIWA Champion in program history with his 4-0 performance at the conference championships in March. Also the program's only four-time NCAA Qualifier, Durso wrapped up his senior season with a 39-10 record, which tied his season wins record and gave him a program-best 145-38 mark for his career. In 2014, Durso became the program's first All-American since 1981 and had twice reached the quarterfinals at the NCAA D1 Wrestling Championships. He finished this year's tournament with a 2-2 record and placed in the top-16 for the third time in his career. 

Tamara Mills (Hopkinton, Mass. / Hopkinton) of the field hockey team and Brett Poniros (Mamaroneck, N.Y. / Mamaroneck) of the baseball team were awarded the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Sportsmanship Award. The Sportsmanship Award is bestowed upon a male and female athlete who has demonstrated consistently good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in his/her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics. He/she must also have demonstrated good citizenship outside of an athletic competition setting and be in good academic standing.

Morgan Gray (Beloit, Wis. / Craig) of the women's track & field team and Shawn Hines (Lancaster, Pa. / Manheim Township) of the men's basketball team were honored with the Delphic Student-Athlete Award. The award is given to the male and female senior athletes with the highest cumulative grade point average at the conclusion of the fall semester. He/she must have achieved the highest level of excellence in athletics, community service, and academics.  In accordance with the College's Delphic Student-Athlete Honor Society, the recipients must also embody the ideals of mind, body, and spirit.