Franklin & Marshall Names Paul Women’s Lax Coach

Franklin & Marshall Names Paul Women’s Lax Coach

Franklin & Marshall College Director of Athletics and Recreation, Patricia S.W. Epps, announced Lauren Paul ’03 as the College’s women’s lacrosse head coach. With the appointment, Paul becomes the tenth coach in the program’s 32-year history.

“It is a great thrill to welcome Lauren back to F&M,” said Epps. “She was an outstanding student-athlete and will be an inspirational role model and coach.”

Paul was a two-time All-America choice and three-time Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-Metro Region First Team selection. She was also a three-time All-Centennial Conference First Team nod, one of only eight players in league-history to accomplish that feat. As a senior, she served as team captain under then first year head coach, Anne Phillips. Phillips resigned in June to assume the head coaching position at Yale.

Paul’s name peppers F&M’s lacrosse record book. She was the first player in the program’s history to score 100 goals and register 100 assists in her career. The Baltimore native ranks second in career assists (103), sixth in career points (242), and tenth in goals (139). Despite her impact on the record books, Paul’s most indelible impression on the program may lie in the fact that she is the origin of “YEER”, the battlecry that has morphed into the symbol of Franklin & Marshall’s women’s lacrosse tradition.

Beyond the lacrosse field, Paul made her presence felt in the College’s campus life. She was a four-year member of the all girls A Capella signing group and a participant in The Women's Center program, Take Back the Night, aimed at raising awareness of sexual assault and abuse on the campus and in the community. She also presented research at Moravian College’s Student Mathematical Conference.

“I am so honored to come back to Franklin & Marshall College,” said Paul. “I am really excited about the opportunity to pursue what has been my dream of being the head coach of this program.”

While Paul will make her debut as a head coach, she is quite familiar with the view from the sidelines. Following her graduation from Franklin & Marshall, she assumed an assistant coaching position at Lafayette University. At that post, Paul was charged with the Leopards’ recruiting efforts and budget management. On the field, she worked with Lafayette’s attack and keepers. Two of her players earned All-Patriot League honors, leading the team back to the Patriot League Championships.

From Lafayette, she moved on to Centennial Conference rival Dickinson where she coached under F&M alumna, Kasey Ryan ’99. The former duo of Diplomats led the Devils to their first Centennial Conference Championship Tournament appearance in 2005 and followed that effort with showings in the 2006 and 2007 championships.

Second-year assistant, Brooke Young, will remain with the program as a full-time assistant coach.

"I look forward to the upcoming season and working with Lauren to continue the success and traditions of the Franklin and Marshall women's lacrosse team,” said Young. “We have an experienced group of girls returning as well as a lot of new, first-year talent. Together, as a team, we will look to continue the winning tradition of F&M."

As an undergraduate at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Young was a four-year scholarship athlete for the nationally ranked Tar Heels. In 2002, she was a starter for the ACC championship team that went on to the NCAA Final Four. She was also invited to try out for the United States National Development Squad.

“I am so pleased to have Coach Young with the team,” said Paul. “I really look forward to working alongside of her. Her relationship with the team and her knowledge of the game will be tremendously helpful in returning F&M to the title game next May.”

Franklin & Marshall will play its 33rd season of lacrosse in 2009. The Diplomats have posted an all-time record of 335-152-3 (.688), and have made 11 appearances in the NCAA postseason. The 2007 Diplomats reeled off 21 wins en route to the NCAA Division III National Championship and made a return trip to the National Final in 2008.