Nogales Scores Twice to Lead Diplomats Over Gwynedd-Mercy

Nogales Scores Twice to Lead Diplomats Over Gwynedd-Mercy

Box Score

Box Score - Plattsburgh State vs. Eastern

LANCASTER, Pa. - The No. 21 Franklin & Marshall men's soccer team scored four goals in the second half, including three in an eight minute, 14 second span to defeat Gwynedd-Mercy 4-0 in the opening round of the 2008 Scrapyard Classic held at the North Campus Athletic Field on Saturday.

Sophomore Rodrigo Nogales, a transfer from Washington University (MO), began his career for the Diplomats (1-0) with back-to-back goals, the first being the eventual game winner to help F&M start the season off with a win. Sophomore Matt Krantz recorded a goal and an assist, while Matt Melino also found the back of the net for the remainder of the offensive output.

The Diplomats made the most of their opportunities in the second half on 17 shots fired while holding the Griffins (0-1) to just three shots and scoreless for the shut-out victory.

After a defensive first-half battle, F&M came out of the break and started its scoring frenzy in the 50th minute. Andrew DeMaio crossed the ball from the left side and found Nogales in the middle of the box for the one-touch shot for a 1-0 lead.

The Diplomats kept the pressure on with Krantz blasting a shot that was deflected by Gwynedd-Mercy's goalie Matt Leonard and Nogales scored off the rebound for his second straight tally. Two minutes, 45 seconds later, Melino sent a bending direct kick into the top left corner of the goal for a 3-0 lead with 32:14 left to play.

Krantz made it 4-0 with his first goal of the season off freshman Colin McMillan first collegiate assist in the 77th minute. McMillan crossed the ball from the right flank and Krantz was at the top of the key to bury a shot in the net to give F&M a comfortable lead.

Zack Zamek posted two saves for the Diplomats, while Leonard recorded 13 in the loss.  

F&M returns to action tomorrow against Plattsburgh State, a 2-0 winner over Eastern in the second game of the tournament. Game time is 11 a.m.