Eggertsson Leads Men's Golf to Second Place at Gettysburg College Spring Invitational

GETTYSBURG, PA -- Franklin & Marshall College's Dan Eggertsson (Jr., Royal Palm Beach, FL/Suncoast) shot 76 to finish sixth overall and lead the Diplomats to a season-opening runner-up finish at the 2004 Gettysburg College Spring Men's Golf Invitational at The Links at Gettysburg.

F&M, which finished fourth at last year's Gettysburg Invitational on the path to winning the 2003 Centennial Conference Championship, tied with the Bullets and Susquehanna with a combined score of 319, five strokes off the pace of event champion Wesley (314).

Overall, Eggertsson, making his second appearance of the fall/spring season after kicking for the F&M football team in the fall, was the best Centennial Conference golfer counted in the team score as only McDaniel's Brian Zadrozny (75), who participated as an individual, bettered him.

Playing without 2003 Centennial Conference medallist Nick Leigh (Sr., Innisfil, Ontario, Canada), the Diplomats rallied behind Eggertsson as Matt Dietz (Fr., Simsbury, CT/Simsbury) shot 80, Ben Madonia (So., Clinton, NY/Clinton) carded an 81 and Kevin Philipow (Jr., Sudbury, Ontario/Region 18) shot 82.

The performance is a dramatic improvement over last year's Gettysburg Invitational as the Diplomats finished with a team score of 332, 13 strokes off the mark of the team's 2004 performance.

Further, at last year's invitational Eggertsson finished with a score of 87 as he participated as an individual and did not count into the team score.

Franklin & Marshall will continue the season on April 3-4 at the Washington & Jefferson Invitational.

Complete results of the tournament are available online at

Team Scores
1.Wesley 314
T2. Gettysburg A 319
T2. Franklin & Marshall 319
T2. Susquehanna 319
T5. York 324
6. McDaniel 325
7. La Salle 331
T8. Gettysburg B 334
T8. TCNJ 334
10. Lycoming 342
11. Kings 346
12. Dickinson 374

F&M 319
Dan Eggertsson 76
Matt Dietz 80
Ben Madonia 81
Kevin Philipow 82
Carson Crooms 85
Matt Oscadal 86
Mark Quick 96