Diplomats Tie for 19th at NCAA Championships

May 18, 2007

Complete Results

FISHERS, Ind. - St. John's University (MN) shot a four-round total of 1,204 to clinch its first NCAA Div. III Men's Golf Championships on Friday at the Hawthorns Golf and Country Club. The Johnnies were consistent throughout the four rounds, shooting between 300 and 303 on each day, including a 303 on the final day. They shot 300 on the first two days and added a 301 on Thursday to take an 11-shot lead into the final round.

St. John's No. 1 player Clinton Dammann ran away with the individual title, firing a four-day total of 287 (1 under par). He won the individual title by eight shots firing three rounds of par (72) and a 1-under 71 in the second round on Wednesday. Dammann was named the Arnold Palmer Award winner presented by Callaway Golf as the medalist of the tournament.

After holding 15th place at the end of three consecutive rounds, the Diplomats dropped to 19th place by the end of Friday's round, wrapping up the tournament tied with McMurray Un iversity. The round concluded F&M's first appearance in the NCAA Golf Championships in 20 years. The Diplomats finished in seventh place in the 1987 championships.

Andrew Woods (Simsbury, CT / Simsbury) was the only F&M golfer to come in under 80 on Friday. He shot a 79, carding F&M's lone birdie of the day on 13. Entering the day in 25th place, Dennis Gunderson (Duxbury, MA / Duxbury) wrapped up the final round tied for 40th place with a four-round total of 313. Woods shot a 314 to tie with eight golfers for 43rd place.

Chuck Anttonen (Rumson, NJ / Rumson Fair-Haven) finished in tied for 91st place (324). Joe Fucigna (Weston, CT / Weston) finished in a four way tie for 98th place with a total of 327, while Bryan Hartog (Richmond Hill, ONT / Langstaff) finished in a six-way tie for 102nd place with a 328. 120 players and 23 teams survived Wednesday's cut. The field began with 180 golfers and 35 teams.

La Verne (305-311-301-299 1,216) finished second to St. John's by 12 shots, including a 299 on the final day. Ohio Wesleyan (302-309-307-299 1,217), Huntingdon (307-314-309-297 1,227) and Oglethorpe (303-319-306-307 1,235) rounded out the top five. Huntingdon shot the low round on Friday with a 297 followed by Ohio Wesleyan and La Verne at 299.

The rest of the top 10 include Rhodes (299-316-323-303 1,241), Texas Lutheran (311-322-308-303 1,244), Guilford (307-311-314-312 1,244), Wisconsin Eau-Claire (319-311-305-310 1,245), Carthage (311-315-317-304 1,247) and defending champion Nebraska Wesleyan (312-314-310-311 1,247).

Andy Miller of Otterbein (74-74-72-75 295) and Jacob Collinsworth of Huntingdon (74-73-75-73 295) tied for second place individually. Miller won the Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Dillards Inc./Hartmarx Corp., which is given annually to the 2007 Player of the Year.

Other top 10 individuals include Jeff Nieman of Ohio Wesleyan (72-80-71-73 296), Taylor Urbanski of Oglethorpe (75-76-73-76 300), Rode McElreath of McMurry (69-78-79-75 301), Andrew Longbella of St. John's (74-73-79-76 302), Rizal Amin of La Verne (75-79-73-75 302), Aaron Stockton of Nebraska Wesleyan (74-77-75-76 302) and Andy Schillig of Ohio Wesleyan (76-77-77-73 303).

The Ping All-American Team was also named at the conclusion of the tournament. First-team members include Miller, Amin, Collinsworth, Dammann, Longbella, Nieman, Urbanski, McElreath, Stockton, Stephen Goodridge of Rochester, Nathaniel James of Washington and Lee and Joseph Poplin of Guilford.

Second-Team members include Schillig, Chris Davis of La Verne, Justin Palmer of Rhodes, Bradley Sutherland of Transylvania, Jonathan Swisher of Texas Lutheran, Jordan Talah of La Verne, Joel Winters of Central, Tyler Wollberg of Carthage and Tommy Yamaoka of Hope.

The 2007 NCAA Div. III Men's Golf Championship was being hosted by Anderson University and the Hamilton County Convention and Visitors Bureau.

For complete team and individual results go to golfstat.com or ncaa.org.